Burry Port Contest

The band achieved 5th place in the Championship Section at the second leg of the 2017 Welsh League series, this year held at Burry Port Memorial Hall on October 7th 2017.

With what the band believes to be the first competitive UK performance of the chosen test piece, the adjudicator, Ian Porthouse, placed the band amongst a strong field as shown in the full results below.

Position Band Piece Draw Points
1 Goodwick Brass
(Matthew Jenkins)
A King’s Lie
(Stan Nieuwenhuis)
6 196
2 Ebbw Valley Brass
(Gareth Ritter)
Fragile Oasis
(Peter Meechan)
4 195
3 Llwydcoed Band
(Chris Turner)
Symphony in Two Movements
(Edward Gregson)
7 194
4 Tylorstown Band
(Gary Davies)
(Martin Ellerby)
8 193
5 Pontardulais Town Band
(Paul Jenkins)
Sinfonietta No. 3
(Etienne Crausaz)
2 192
6 City of Cardiff M1 Band
(Nigel Seaman)
(Philip Sparke)
? 191
7 Burry Port Town Band
(Christopher Bond)
The Essence of Time
(Peter Graham)
5 190
8 Markham & District Band
(Matthew Rowe)
Dances and Arias
(Edward Gregson)
? 188

Best instrumentalist: Lawrence Savage – Cornet (Ebbw Valley Brass)
Best soprano cornet: Ellen Waite (Ebbw Valley Brass)
Best percussion section: Goodwick Brass

Graig Merthyr Memorial Unveiling

A busy Saturday saw the band put preparations for the WWBBA Burry Port contest on hold, to take part in the unveiling of a permanent memorial, in Pontardulais, to those who lost their lives at the Graig Merthyr Colliery. Amongst the names inscribed on the memorial are some past members of the band, further details of whom can be found on one of the pages in the History section.

Junior Band Awards 2017

Congratulations to Eleri Huxtable and Cameron Greenall, winners of the Pontardulais Junior Band Awards 2017. Eleri won the award for ‘Most Improved Player’ and Cameron won the ‘Best Attender’ award. Well done both!

Most Improved Player – Eleri Huxtable
Best Attender – Cameron Greenall

Pontardulais & Hendy Carnival 2017

Pontardulais Town Band were once again proud to lead the parade at the Pontardulais & Hendy Carnival, but for the first time from the upper deck of an open top double-decker bus! Normally the band plays traditional marches while leading the parade on foot, but being chauffeured in style allowed the band to play a selection of lively music to entertain the crowds. The band were also pleased to share the bus with local two-time MMA champion Brett Johns.

Huge thanks to the Pontarddulais and Hendy Festival Committee for their organisation of the event and to the Swansea Bus Museum for allowing us to use the bus!

New Officials Elected

A mixture of new and returning officials were elected at the band’s Annual General Meeting held on 17th May 2017, with the positions filled as follows:

President – Mr John Maclean

Chairperson – Mrs Sue Aldrich

Treasurer – Mr Neil Palmer

Secretary – Mrs Jen Welti

The band looks forward to the year ahead under their and the committee’s leadership.

Annual Concert Tickets

Tickets are now available for the Annual Concert, which will feature Senior and Junior Bands, with special guests Bella Voce ladies choir.

Tickets are currently available at a bargain price of £10 from Sue Aldrich, Carly Shanklin, Steph Throp or via any member of the band.

Alternatively tickets will be available on the door, but as this is always a popular concert we recommend avoiding disappointment by getting your tickets before the day!

Concert - Annual 2017

Contest Success in Merthyr

Bradley Barnes
Best Instrumentalist – Bradley Barnes, Euphonium

The band are pleased to have achieved 3rd place in the Championship Section at the opening contest of the 2017 Welsh League series, held at Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Centre on May 6th 2017.

In addition, the band are delighted that solo euphonium player, Bradley Barnes, was awarded the ‘Best Instrumentalist’ prize for the section.

In this Own Choice contest, adjudicated by Melvin White, the band chose to perform ‘Alhambra’ by Jan de Haan. Full results for the section are below.

Position Band Piece Draw Points
1 Llwydcoed Band
(Chris Turner)
Reflections on Swan Lake
(Stephen Roberts)
3 190
2 Tylorstown Band
(Gary Davies)
Salute to Youth
(Gilbert Vinter)
5 188
3 Pontardulais Town Band
(Paul Jenkins)
(Jan de Haan)
4 187
4 Markham & District Band
(Matthew Rowe)
Paganini Variations
(Philip Wilby)
6 186
5 Ebbw Valley Brass
(Gareth Ritter)
Salute to Youth
(Gilbert Vinter)
1 185
W Burry Port Town Band Reflections on Swan Lake
(Stephen Roberts)
2 W

Best instrumentalist: Bradley Barnes – Euphonium (Pontardulais Town Band)
Best horn: Evan Key (Llwydcoed Band)
Best back row: Llwydcoed Band

100 Club Restarts

The band’s popular 100 Club lottery is due to restart soon. If you would like to reclaim your number, or if you would like to join as a new player, please speak to Jen Welti or send an email to as soon as possible. Numbers will be reserved on a first come, first served basis.

Entry is £1 per month, per number. Players are welcome to buy multiple numbers to increase their odds of winning!