Tesco Bags of Help

Pontardulais Town Junior Band calls out for votes to bag a share of Tesco’s Bags of Help Initiative.

Tokens available in the Tesco Pontarddulais Superstore now until the end of February 2018. Customers will cast their vote using a token given to them at the checkout in store each time they shop.

Pontardulais Town Junior Band and Beginners are expanding and are desperately in need of new instruments, music, stands, folders and cases.

Following a very successful Open Day in September 2017 we have been delighted to welcome many new members to our Beginners and Junior Band. We now have so many wanting to learn that we have run out of instruments!! We would very much like to give our members old and new some decent instruments to play on and also to buy them some exciting new music. We are also in need of music stands, instrument cases and music folders to update our current bedraggled collection which after many years of use is looking very worse for wear and held together with sticky tape and a prayer!

The Pontardulais Town Band and Junior Band participate in many local events such as the Annual Pontardulais & Hendy Carnival, Father Christmas Parade, the Armistice Parade, Goppa Christmas Carol Concert and of course our Annual Concert and are often to be heard outside Tesco’s at Christmas time playing Carols. We are also very proud to represent our village at local and national brass band competitions.

As a charitable organisation we rely on donations from band members, our patrons and what we take from performing in concerts and competitions. Christmas Carolling is also a very important income for the band and the generous donations of our local community goes a long way in ensuring the band can continue for another year. It is always a struggle to make ends meet. We have a lovely bandroom but of course this takes a large amount of money to maintain what with heating, lighting, water rates etc., and when you consider that a new Tuba can cost upwards of £8,000 replacing instruments is an almost insurmountable task. Most of our juniors play on instruments that are significantly older than them!

We have been very proud to be part of the community of Pontardulais for well over a hundred years and this money would enable us to continue to share our passion for brass band music with our young band members and help us continue to bring music to the community of Pontardulais.


Tesco Bags of Help Logo


Tesco teamed up with Groundwork to launch its community funding scheme, which sees grants of up to £4,000, £2,000 and £1,000 – all raised from carrier bag sales in Tesco stores – being awarded to local community projects.

Bags of Help offers community groups and projects across the UK a share of revenue generated from carrier bag sales in Tesco store. The public will now vote in store during January and February on who should receive the awards.

Burry Port Contest

The band achieved 5th place in the Championship Section at the second leg of the 2017 Welsh League series, this year held at Burry Port Memorial Hall on October 7th 2017.

With what the band believes to be the first competitive UK performance of the chosen test piece, the adjudicator, Ian Porthouse, placed the band amongst a strong field as shown in the full results below.

Position Band Piece Draw Points
1 Goodwick Brass
(Matthew Jenkins)
A King’s Lie
(Stan Nieuwenhuis)
6 196
2 Ebbw Valley Brass
(Gareth Ritter)
Fragile Oasis
(Peter Meechan)
4 195
3 Llwydcoed Band
(Chris Turner)
Symphony in Two Movements
(Edward Gregson)
7 194
4 Tylorstown Band
(Gary Davies)
(Martin Ellerby)
8 193
5 Pontardulais Town Band
(Paul Jenkins)
Sinfonietta No. 3
(Etienne Crausaz)
2 192
6 City of Cardiff M1 Band
(Nigel Seaman)
(Philip Sparke)
? 191
7 Burry Port Town Band
(Christopher Bond)
The Essence of Time
(Peter Graham)
5 190
8 Markham & District Band
(Matthew Rowe)
Dances and Arias
(Edward Gregson)
? 188

Best instrumentalist: Lawrence Savage – Cornet (Ebbw Valley Brass)
Best soprano cornet: Ellen Waite (Ebbw Valley Brass)
Best percussion section: Goodwick Brass

Graig Merthyr Memorial Unveiling

A busy Saturday saw the band put preparations for the WWBBA Burry Port contest on hold, to take part in the unveiling of a permanent memorial, in Pontardulais, to those who lost their lives at the Graig Merthyr Colliery. Amongst the names inscribed on the memorial are some past members of the band, further details of whom can be found on one of the pages in the History section.

Junior Band Awards 2017

Congratulations to Eleri Huxtable and Cameron Greenall, winners of the Pontardulais Junior Band Awards 2017. Eleri won the award for ‘Most Improved Player’ and Cameron won the ‘Best Attender’ award. Well done both!

Most Improved Player – Eleri Huxtable
Best Attender – Cameron Greenall

Pontardulais & Hendy Carnival 2017

Pontardulais Town Band were once again proud to lead the parade at the Pontardulais & Hendy Carnival, but for the first time from the upper deck of an open top double-decker bus! Normally the band plays traditional marches while leading the parade on foot, but being chauffeured in style allowed the band to play a selection of lively music to entertain the crowds. The band were also pleased to share the bus with local two-time MMA champion Brett Johns.

Huge thanks to the Pontarddulais and Hendy Festival Committee for their organisation of the event and to the Swansea Bus Museum for allowing us to use the bus!

New Officials Elected

A mixture of new and returning officials were elected at the band’s Annual General Meeting held on 17th May 2017, with the positions filled as follows:

President – Mr John Maclean

Chairperson – Mrs Sue Aldrich

Treasurer – Mr Neil Palmer

Secretary – Mrs Jen Welti

The band looks forward to the year ahead under their and the committee’s leadership.

Annual Concert Tickets

Tickets are now available for the Annual Concert, which will feature Senior and Junior Bands, with special guests Bella Voce ladies choir.

Tickets are currently available at a bargain price of £10 from Sue Aldrich, Carly Shanklin, Steph Throp or via any member of the band.

Alternatively tickets will be available on the door, but as this is always a popular concert we recommend avoiding disappointment by getting your tickets before the day!

Concert - Annual 2017

Contest Success in Merthyr

Bradley Barnes
Best Instrumentalist – Bradley Barnes, Euphonium

The band are pleased to have achieved 3rd place in the Championship Section at the opening contest of the 2017 Welsh League series, held at Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Centre on May 6th 2017.

In addition, the band are delighted that solo euphonium player, Bradley Barnes, was awarded the ‘Best Instrumentalist’ prize for the section.

In this Own Choice contest, adjudicated by Melvin White, the band chose to perform ‘Alhambra’ by Jan de Haan. Full results for the section are below.

Position Band Piece Draw Points
1 Llwydcoed Band
(Chris Turner)
Reflections on Swan Lake
(Stephen Roberts)
3 190
2 Tylorstown Band
(Gary Davies)
Salute to Youth
(Gilbert Vinter)
5 188
3 Pontardulais Town Band
(Paul Jenkins)
(Jan de Haan)
4 187
4 Markham & District Band
(Matthew Rowe)
Paganini Variations
(Philip Wilby)
6 186
5 Ebbw Valley Brass
(Gareth Ritter)
Salute to Youth
(Gilbert Vinter)
1 185
W Burry Port Town Band Reflections on Swan Lake
(Stephen Roberts)
2 W

Best instrumentalist: Bradley Barnes – Euphonium (Pontardulais Town Band)
Best horn: Evan Key (Llwydcoed Band)
Best back row: Llwydcoed Band