Welsh Open Champions 2022!

Pontardulais Town Band – Welsh Open Champions!
Photo credit: 4barsrest.com

For the first time in its history, the band was delighted to win the Welsh Open Brass Band Championship!

The first contest held in Wales since the beginning of the COVID-19 Coronavirus pandemic was hosted at The Riverfront in Newport on February 20th and saw the band compete in a field of 13 Championship and First Section bands.

Previously held at the Grand Pavilion in Porthcawl, this Entertainment Contest sees each band perform a programme of music up to 20 minutes in duration and this year was adjudicated by Dr Robert Childs, with David Francis given the task of selecting the winner of the ‘Most Entertaining Stage Presentation’ award.

A late personnel change as a result of COVID-19 Coronavirus restrictions saw regular conductor, Paul Jenkins, swap his baton for a trombone, with Matthew Jenkins taking over conducting duties.

Best Horn Section – Pontardulais Town Band

In addition to winning the CISWO Challenge Trophy and the £1,000 prize, the band’s horn section were awarded the prize for the ‘Best Horn Section’.

The result also saw the band gain an invitation to compete in the Senior Trophy contest at the Spring Festival in Blackpool on May 7th 2022.

The band chose to perform the following programme, complemented by a video presentation and narrated by radio DJ and local Swansea personality, Kev Johns.

  • Nordic Polska, Anders Edenroth & Matti Kallio arr. Philip Harper
  • Trust in Me, Sherman & Sherman arr. Philip Harper
  • Fantasy on London Nursery Rhymes, Dan Price
  • An Evening Prayer, Engelbert Humperdinck arr. Robert Childs
  • Tale of the Dragon, Paul Lovatt-Cooper

Full results for the contest are shown below.

1Pontardulais Town BandMatthew Jenkins14184
2City of Cardiff (M1) BandChris Bond4183
3Tongwynlais Temperance BandCarl Saunders13181
4Ebbw Valley BrassGareth Ritter2180
5Brunel BrassDaniel Hall10178
6B. T. M. BandJeff Hutcherson12176
7SW Comms BandStephen Sykes7175
8Tylorstown BandGary Davies1173
9Lewis Merthyr BandCraig Roberts8172
10Parc & Dare BandDewi Griffiths11171
11A W Parker Drybrook BandJoshua Ruck5170
12Forest of Dean BrassThomas Dunne3169
13Markham & District BandJayne Thomas6168

Filton Conert Brass, drawn to perform as band number 9, withdrew prior to the contest.

Highest Placed First Section Band not in the Prizes: Ebbw Valley Brass

Most Entertaining Stage Presentation: City of Cardiff (M1) Band

Best Soloist: Megan Newberry – Cornet (SW Comms Band)

Best Cornet Player: Becky Cale (City of Cardiff (M1) Band)

Best Soprano Player: Clint Millter (B. T. M. Band)

Best Horn Section: Pontardulais Town Band

Best Percussion Section: Brunel Brass

Youngest Instrumentalist: Noah Davies (Tylorstown Band)

Invitation to Compete at the 2022 Spring Festival Senior Trophy: Pontardulais Town Band